Pea Pesto

Image

It’s Spring! So what better thing to do than experiment with fresh, spring like flavours.

I’ve seen a few recipes floating about for pea based ‘pestos’ so thought I’d have a go at making one to my own taste. Most of the recipes I’ve seen have only suggested eating it with toast or bread and not on pasta. I know pesto doesn’t strictly have to be used on just pasta and shouldn’t be shunned to this one use-age, but I thought it would be nice to come up with a recipe for a pea pesto that could be used on pasta, cos that’s what most of us use the stuff for right?

So for my pea pesto I blitzed the following with a hand blender:

For 2 portions (enough to coat 200g pasta or 2 big slabs of toast)

200ml of defrosted frozen peas ( in ML because I found it easier to bung everything into a Pyrex jug to blitz)

3 tbsp natural yoghurt (less if your yoghurt is runny)

juice of half a lemon

10 or so fresh mint leaves chopped

1 large garlic clove finally chopped

1/2 tsp of salt (or to taste) and a grind or two of pepepr

1/4 tsp of dried chilli flakes, or some of your favourite hot sauce to taste. I use this stuff. I’m crazy I know but I like it hot and the flavour is fab.

And just blitz the lot but leave a few chunky bits. Whack on your favourite pasta and finish with a few more mint leaves. Delish!

Image

Image

I’m still getting the hang of this photography malarky, and the lighting in my house is awful. One day I will master a good photo.

Image

And it was good on toast too…

Image

 

Have you got any spring twists on any classic/favourite recipes?

2 thoughts on “Pea Pesto

Leave a Reply

